Leave a comment

My 16 Favorite Musicals

  1. West Side Story
  2. Oliver
  3. Chicago
  4. Fiddler on the Roof
  5. My Fair Lady
  6. Cabaret
  7. Wait, I can’t think of any more to list, because I can’t stand musicals, in general.
  8. They make no sense! Seriously, who falls in love with someone with the space of 5 minutes? Uh, Dolly, HELLO?
  9. A freakshow who is going to turn out to be majorly clingy, that’s who.
  10. (I realize this is the plot of West Side Story, but the music in that one is irresistible, and the choreography is endlessly watchable.)
  11. (I mean, the scene on the rooftop, sung/danced to “America”? What, are you kidding me? AMAZING.)
  12. What bugs me is the emotions are generated on the page/stage simply to provide for a song, as opposed to a song arising because of genuine emotion.
  13. I do like that “One” song from A Chorus Line, though.
  14. It’s true, I haven’t seen The Book of Mormon, which sounds like it’d be right up my alley.
  15. I liked the production values of Wicked, but the story strayed so far from the book, and simplified it so egregiously, that I can’t back that one. Happy ending, bah.
  16. I don’t think I even like The Sound of Music, now that I think about it.

Leave a Reply

