Leave a comment

28 Is Power

hebkeyI first read about the Jewish system of numerology (called gematria) when I read The Chosen as a kid. Well, I read it many times as a kid, because I love that book. Anyway, the idea is that each letter of the Hebrew alphabet has a numerical value. Thus, each word has its own total value, creating an intimate connection between a word and its number. The most well-known example is “chai,” which means “life,” and its two letters equal 18—thus the Jewish tradition of giving gifts and donations and such in multiples of $18. It just so happens that 28 is the value of the Hebrew word for power: koakh. And you know what? Today was my boss’s last day, because she retired. And now I am in charge of my department. Power! It feels good. I like it.

Leave a Reply

