Leave a comment

1 of 10: Forgiveness

As I was walking to my car tonight, leaving the talent show at my daughter’s school, I heard a boy telling his dad that a tornado was coming. He was pointing toward the crazy cloud formations in the greenish sky. “You want to stay here and watch the tornado come in?” the dad asked him, and they walked toward the edge of the parking lot. Well, it was no tornado, but as I drove east, toward those crazy clouds, it became easily the worst rainstorm I’ve ever driven in. I crept along Lamar hoping my car could make it through the mini-floods that were springing up all over while the rain and hail sheeted on down. I thought of this Patty Griffin song, “Forgiveness,” which has these lines:

I heard somebody say
Today’s the day
A big old hurricane
Is blowing our way
Knocking over the buildings
Killing all the light
Open your eyes, boy, we made it through the night
Open your eyes, boy, we made it through the night

Let’s take a walk on the bridge
Right over this mess
Don’t need to tell me a thing, baby
We’ve already confessed
And I raised my voice to the air
And we were blessed

I made it home, and put on this CD, Living with Ghosts: 10 flawless tracks of acoustic poetry, including “Forgiveness.” These tracks were intended as demos, but the record label felt the recordings were perfect as they were and didn’t need to be re-recorded with more elaborate arrangements. I’m so glad they recognized the perfection and didn’t try to gloss it over. Everybody stay dry out there, and try to forgive someone today. Everybody needs a little, I hear.

Leave a Reply

