Leave a comment

Here’s Hoping I Don’t Hit 29

So, I’ve been doing lots of fitness work this year: I trained for and ran a half-marathon, then a speedy (for me) 10K, kicked off the triathlon season, and went on my longest bike ride ever. I’m feeling fairly fit for being a middle-ager. However, I’ve also experienced a huge upswing in my work responsibilities and started eating for convenience rather than weight maintenance—a dangerous practice for a perimenopausal endomorph. My BMI has shot up to 28.2, which is well into the official “Overweight” category. I know the BMI is highly flawed as a measurement tool because it doesn’t account for amount of muscle or body type. Still, it’s discouraging, feeling my clothes are tighter now and knowing I’ll need to work so much harder at my time of life to slim down at all.

So excited to read this book!

So excited to read this book!

Two things made me happy this week, though: 1) this wonderful article titled Can You Be Fat but Fit? that answers “why yes, you can,” and 2) this blog specific to endomorphic athletes, Endie Runners, with the tagline “The shadow yells walrus, but the spirit cries gazelle.” Awesome! That is the spirit indeed. This blogger has written what looks like a perfect book for me: Honey, Do You Need a Ride? Confessions of a Fat Runner.

I needed some reinforcement because I’m really noticing lately the larger cultural bias against endomorphs, a bias that starts in my own head and is reflected back at me by those who harshly judge by body type (as if it’s a moral choice rather than an innate feature of one-third the human race). I noted on Paleo Power Challenge 90*  these article titles:  How to Eat for Ectomorph Body Type…..Tall & Slender; How to Eat for Mesomorph Body Type….Naturally Muscular; and How to Eat For Endomorph Body Type [no complimentary adjectives here]. A quick glance at the graphics accompanying these articles reveals equally telling perceptions: the ectomorph and mesomorph sample photos are of celebrities on the red carpet with accompanying representative drawings, labeled merely “Body Type.” The endomorphs get the qualifiers of an “In Shape” and an “Overweight” graphic with a bonus unflattering cartoonish depiction. How fascinating to learn that, evidently, ectos and mesos never outwardly manifest any lack of fitness! Stay classy, Paleo Power Challenge 90. I’m just going to go re-read, yet again,the book that got me into triathlon: Slow Fat Triathlete: Live Your Athletic Dreams in the Body You Have Now. It’s a classic, must-read book for the big-boned but athletically inclined. 
 
*(A site that offers much advice on “loosing” weight; if it’s your business, maybe learn how to spell it.)

Leave a Reply

