1 Comment

18 Songs for a Baby Shower Playlist

I put together a mix CD for a baby shower at work earlier this year, and discovered some nifty songs. Now, this WAS at work, and for a country-music-loving mom of a little girl, so I was operating within constraints that led to some eye-rollingly cliched choices, like All-American Girl and Thank Heaven for Little Girls. But I stand by the terribly obvious choice of Danny’s Song because it’s just so moving and lovely, still, after all these years. I refrained from including Isn’t She Lovely, though—I have my limits. I was going for a combination of songs about parents and daughters, and also some songs a parent could sing to a child. I was glad I found a couple of tracks conveying some of the difficulties of parenting, such as Metaphor; Be Careful, There’s a Baby in the House; and Daughter (those last two from notably terrible father Loudon Wainright III, about whom his daughter Martha wrote the song Bloody Motherfucking Asshole).

I’ve bolded the songs that I’d never heard before but now love and listen to without being forced into a baby-shower situation. To give a listen to the full list, see Spotify embed below.

01. Lady Madonna by The Beatles
02. Georgia Rae by John Hiatt
03. Power of Two by Indigo Girls
04. Babyfather by Sade
05. My Baby Girl by John Martyn
06. Gracie by Ben Folds
07. All-American Girl by Carrie Underwood
08. Metaphor by Nick Parker
09. That Was Your Mother by Paul Simon
10. Be Careful, There’s a Baby in the House by Loudon Wainright III
11. Mother’s Little Helper by The Rolling Stones
12. Daughter by Loudon Wainwright III
13. Who’s My Pretty Baby by Elizabeth Mitchell
14. So Tired by Eric Clapton
15. Stay Up Late by Talking Heads
16. Kooks by David Bowie
17. Danny’s Song by Loggins & Messina
18. Thank Heaven for Little Girls by Maurice Chevalier

One comment on “18 Songs for a Baby Shower Playlist

  1. Thank you! This sounds like a baby shower I might actually enjoy. I have a couple more ideas for any other people like me searching around:

    Pink and Blue – The Mountain Goats
    Can’t Help But Smiling – Devandra Banhart
    Baby – Devandra Banhart
    Those to Come – The Shins
    To Be Born – Sean Hayes
    Innocent Spring – Sean Hayes
    You Make Me Feel So Young – Frank Sinatra

Leave a Reply

