Leave a comment

12 More Christmas Songs That Don’t Suck

Today Roof Pig is one year old. I kicked off this blog with a list of 12 Christmas songs you’re probably not sick of. Today I’ve got 12 more, with a Spotify player below so you can hear all of them.

  1. Happy Birthday Guadalupe by The Killers: I’ve just learned today that The Killers release an Xmas song for charity every year, but this is the only one I know so far. It’s a charmer!
  2. I’ve Got My Love to Keep Me Warm by Les Brown & His Band of Renown (remix): Something cozy and horn-sectiony but refreshingly remixy
  3. Oh You (Christmas Blues) by LCD Soundsystem: Hilariously despairing; a nice break from relentless cheer.
  4. Things I Want by Tenacious D: Cuz there’s a lotta cool shit I wa-ant. Awesome lyrics here.
  5. Black Christmas by Poly Styrene: Reggae-styled Christmas blues.
  6. Reindeer by The Knife: Twee and foreign and long (7:15) and somehow bracing. Rhymes “reindeer” with “rains here” and creeps you out with its eerie lyrics.
  7. Cold White Christmas by Casiotone for the Painfully Alone: A great song to drink warm vodka to, maybe, if you’re in St. Paul.
  8. No Christmas While I’m Talking by The Walkmen: If you want to clear out a party, put this one on. I like it, though, hey.
  9. Merry Christmas from the Family by Robert Earl Keen: If you grew up in Texas in the 70s/80s, the Stop N Go shoutout will make your day. This song is perfection. In the running for my favorite song to return to each December; top 3 for sure.
  10. Christmas Blues by the Ramsey Lewis Trio: Some top-notch jazz here; can’t fault Ramsey Lewis Trio no how.
  11. Spotlight on Christmas by Rufus Wainwright: Oh Rufus, I love you.
  12. There Ain’t No Sanity Clause by The Damned: Oh NO, there ain’t no sanity clause, Oh NO. You’ll have to turn this one UP because it has yet to be remastered to today’s sound levels.

Leave a Reply

