Leave a comment

1 Other Thing

The month of November brought to you courtesy of BlogHer

The month of November brought to you courtesy of BlogHer

Hey, it’s the first day of National Blog Posting Month. I found out such a thing existed via my pal Skye’s Twitter. (Skye holds the record for the number of comments made on this here blog, and as such is the Official Roof Pig Hero. Her trophy is, uh, in the mail.) The point of NaBloPoMo is to post daily during the month of November. I haven’t been posting at all for months, because I haven’t been doing much of anything at all this year in any area of my life, and I like consistency. I’m feeling motivated to get going and jumpstart my life, and returning to Roof Pig residency is one way to get my brain working. If you are interested in finding out more about NaBloPoMo, check out the resources at BlogHer.

At a bloggers’ social hour earlier this year, I had the occasion to tell multiple strangers about this blog, and found myself having to explain the name’s origin over and over. When I chose this blog’s name, I hadn’t considered having to explain its name in a cocktail party situation. And unless someone has seen the Tick cartoon, they are going to need an explanation of what a roof  pig is (see: About). Fortunately, I don’t go to many cocktail parties. However, I have been pondering an alternate name for this blog, suitable for an alternate universe perhaps,where I think ahead to cocktail-party-ready explanations. Because of the counting element, the first thing that came into my head was “Counting Backwards,” as in the stellar Throwing Muses song. But since each day moves forward with counting (as each day’s post is based on that day’s date), Counting Backwards really doesn’t apply. So I started thinking about the creative process that goes into this blog, and about the ego involved in the creative process in general.

And then I thought of King Crimson’s “Indiscipline.” One of the tracks from 1981’s Discipline (a desert island disc for me, for sure), “Indiscipline” is the opposite of the title track (which is an orderly, by-the-book example of math rock), a raucous prog-rock free-for-all of a jam that is broken up by two sections of Adrian Belew doing a reading from a letter sent to him by his then-wife Margaret, in which she discusses a sculpture she made. Ultimately, after “carrying it around with me for days and days, playing little games—like, not looking at it for a whole day and then…looking at it, to see if I still liked it,” she decides “I do think its good! The fact is, no matter how closely I study it, no matter how I take it apart, no matter how I break it down, it remains consistent.” And, as stated, I love consistency, yet have shown tremendous indiscipline in maintaining this blog. And when I look back through at some of my posts, I’m quite pleased with myself for having produced some of them, as I quite like how they turned out. So, 1 other thing this blog could have been named: Indiscipline

Leave a Reply

